Skip to content

Delight and Things

a little peek at what delights me

I didn’t want to believe it. But there’s no denying this:

autumnleaves_words

Curious, I checked out the info on the summer photo, thinking I took it ages ago. Not so. It was only 20 days ago.

20 days. That’s the difference 20 days makes. Imagine it in another 20.

All of my friends and family back in Canada are currently getting excited at green shoots poking through melting snow. That fact coupled with my ivy photo gives me the irrational urge to throw all of my plans out the window, jump on a plane, and fly over to the Northern hemisphere to join them in their enthusiasm for all things spring.

Don’t get me wrong – I love autumn. It’s especially nice here, when we’re getting the odd spot of rain to help things green up a bit, and the temperatures have cooled down from the 40s so I can get out and enjoy running again. The dark mornings mean my boyfriend sleeps in till 7 (believe me, that’s a sleep in in our neck of the woods) but it’s still light long enough in the afternoon to get out and enjoy the evening. It’s the time when the boys are getting tractors and land ready for seeding, and ewes are getting fat in preparation for lambing. But it’s also the harbinger of winter, which means dark mornings and dark evenings, cold toes and noses, and frosts doing their best to damage my winter veggies. Which makes me anxious.

I know I should just embrace winter. Find some things I love about it. And I will try – but for a little while longer I’ll grasp on to the last remnants of summer and attempt to just enjoy the nice things that autumn has to offer. Starting with a pretty photo of the ivy displaying it’s new outfit.

Tags: , , ,