Skip to content

Delight and Things

a little peek at what delights me

After admiring my boyfriend’s mother’s lemon tree the other day, I snuck a look around and, confirming it was safe, stole three fat yellow lemons off its limbs. I left a good 70 lemons on the tree, so really don’t feel toooo bad about it. I was really doing the tree a favour by removing some fruit so it could focus its energy on sustaining the other ones, right??

I looked at them sitting in the fruit bowl on the table top for about a week, and although they looked quite fresh and decorative, knew that they needed to be used. Then while flicking through a magazine while waiting for a ride later on that week I happened across a recipe for lemon butter.

Delicious! The perfect use for my three yellow friends.

Things fell into place when I got a free afternoon due to some showers (never have I been in a job where things slow down because of some rain!) so I got to work. Juicing, zesting, simmering. About an hour later the house smelled so fresh and citrusy good I could hardly wait for it to cool down before tasting it.

Yum. Every lemon lover must try this recipe. Although it’s not exactly the one from the magazine (as I’m not great at following recipes).

Lemon Butter

  • 3 med lemons
  • 1 orange
  • 100g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  1. Zest the lemons and the orange into a medium saucepan. Juice the lemons (leave the orange) until you get 2/3 of a cup. If you don’t get enough out of your lemons, top it up with bottled lemon juice or squeeze the orange.
  2. Toss in the chopped butter and the sugar, then stir constantly over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Remove from heat.
  3. Whisk your egg yolks in a bowl. Add to the butter mix in the pan. Continue to cook at medium heat until it thickens, but don’t let it boil.
  4. Pour lemon butter into jars and seal while still hot. Or tip into a sealable container and refrigerate for up to a month.

 

What delighted me most about my lemon butter was that my eggs were also farm fresh, straight from friends’ chooks!

Hope you get a chance to enjoy on fresh baked bread for a morning snack.

Tags: , , , , ,

