Skip to content

Delight and Things

a little peek at what delights me

As you know, I come from a ski resort. But I am not a winter fan. And unfortunately, it’s officially winter here now – although I can’t complain too much because I’ve yet to have snow coming in over the tops of my boots or to scrape the ice off the windsheild before starting the ute up in the morning. Bonus! Although it can get a bit fresh here and I do like to light the fire the second we get home from work and I did have to purchase a column heater for our bedroom, it’s not too bad in the grand scheme of winter.

A funny thing that I’m discovering here is that things in the garden are growing! What? In winter!? Because we’ve been getting a little bit of rain, things are sprouting and the bulbs are coming up (although randomly, in the middle of the lawn… odd planting practices by the previous inhabitants of the house I suppose) and the rose bushes are growing tiny new branches. I have to admit I really want to give the garden some tender loving care so it can at least take the eye away from the industrial decoration which is the tanks and the pipes and the clothesline, buuuuuut I’m at a bit of a loss as to what I’m supposed to be doing because at home, nothing grows in winter. Nothing. Thank goodness for the internet and for wise friends!

I’ve planted a small veggie patch in which I’ve put some winter veggies: cauliflower, beetroot, broccoli, silverbeet, and carrots, but the seeds are slow to sprout and I’m unsure whether it’s the soil, the temperature, or my lack of experience in sowing. Probably a combination of all three. After getting frustrated, I started some seedlings inside and they seem to be doing alright, so hopefully in a few weeks they’ll establish a big enough root system that I can transplant them.

Luckily, I’ve found this handy sowing guide for Australia that will hopefully give me a bit of help in keeping my garden going. For those Canadian friends who are reading this, I offer you no support. You have it easy, with a clearly defined growing season, ample precipitation, and a non-frying sun. But I do wish you the best for your summer veggies which should be growing nicely in the sun at home right this very minute.

Tags: , , ,

