Skip to content

Delight and Things

a little peek at what delights me

This is a totally new experience for me. Although growing up in a ski resort did mean that we were fairly dependent on the weather for our livelihoods (no snow means no tourists which therefore means no jobs), I am truly coming to understand that rain (although generally speaking not my favourite of the weather options) is extremely important as it means whether or not you will get paid this year.

We’ve spent the past few weeks relatively relaxed in terms of workload due to the fact that the earth was dry. Like, hasn’t-rained-in-months dry. And coming into the Aussie winter (which is when the grain crops grow) this was a little less than perfect. Although the soil was cultivated, we needed some rain prior to planting all the crops. And luckily, after weeks of “wouldn’t it be great if we could have some rain today”, on Wednesday it clouded over and the heavens opened.

We were flung into the rain in full-on work mode. The get up at 5:00am, finish at 9:30pm with a ‘run home for a sandwich when you can’ kind of a work mode. Okay – oddly enough, I’m actually okay with this. (Although ask me that at 5:00am and I might tell you a different story…)

Things are wet and soggy. Everything is. Driving out to the back paddock is a slippery, muddy, puddles everywhere trip that takes 15 minutes longer than usual. I can only equate it to driving in wet snow at home. But it’s beautiful. There is nothing to describe the brief moments when the sun comes out and the blue sky reflects off the puddles and you can smell the earth warming.

The most delightful part about it all is that even as quickly as the 24 hours after the rain starts the earth responds and you begin to see little sprouts of green everywhere. It’s like spring at home, but it happens every time it rains! Love it.

And the update on the work – I’ve learned how to drive the seeder so I’ve been helping sow the crops. I’ll admit it’s kind of tedious, sitting in a tractor all day, pausing every 2 or so hours to refill it up with fertilizer and seed, but it is rewarding watching the paddocks turn a beautiful green about 10 days later. The best part though is when we drive around the paddocks and my boyfriend asks me, “How’s your crop looking, Raine?”. My crop! The one I sowed!

Tags:

